I will preface this sad excuse for hair with letting you know that I was out of town this weekend.

I went home to Michigan for the weekend, and we were staying at my mom’s house while she was out of town.  I didn’t bring all my toiletries because I figured she would have them.

The part that I didn’t consider is the fact that she was out of town, and that she would take all of her toiletries with her.

Oops.

So… I went the whole weekend without conditioner.  And for all of you with super long, thick hair… you know that is scary.

In case you didn’t read my last post, I didn’t have time to get on a computer at all this weekend, so all the days are going to be on 1 post instead of getting behind.

Here we go.

Day 3: Sloppy Bun

My husband and I got into Michigan at 7:30 in the morning on Saturday.  I was ready to go take a nap before we started our day, and then I heard Darrin talking to his mom about going out to breakfast.  Since I was super hungry, I opted out of napping and decided that a shower would have to do.  I thought that I would fix my hair after we went for breakfast, but we didn’t really stop after that (1- we had lots of people we needed/wanted to visit and 2- if we stopped moving, we would pass out)… so I rocked the sloppy bun all day.  It worked well considering the tangled mess that it was without any conditioner.  

Day 4: Blow Out-ish

While I was still without conditioner, I did find some leave-in treatment that was in the back of the cupboard from when I had a perm in high school (I’m not sure if 4 year old hair products work, but oh well…)  My hair wasn’t as soft as usual, but I could get a comb through it.   It was pretty chilly too, so I didn’t want to go outside with wet hair (I was planning a french braid) so I blow dried it.  I wouldn’t really call it a “blow out” because there was no technique and no round brush involved- just me and a blow dryer.  PS. Please forgive my crazy flyaways… I miss my conditioner!

Day 5: All Natural

We actually slept in later than we had planned to, so we were in a bit of a time crunch.  We had a few stops to make before heading out at 1, so I didn’t want to waste time doing my hair.  I just threw in a little curl activating cream and let my hair air dry.

Boring hair weekend- I know… but as you can see from the pictures, we spent quite a bit of time driving around.  If you haven’t noticed already, or if you’ve just stumbled on my blog… I think that hair is lots of fun and I love trying new hairstyles and looks, but I don’t think that your hair should take up your whole life.  While it’s fun to get all dolled up,  I could find countless other things to do with an hour of my life than stand in front of a mirror with my curling iron.

Well, until next time…

What’s your mane issue?

PS… check out my new hair tutorial on my youtube channel!

